Costa Coffee franchise UK: costs and business models
Separate a Costa retail franchise from professional coffee solutions and learn which availability and cost questions still need direct confirmation.
Local markets · Independent research
A familiar British high-street name does not automatically offer a franchise that an individual can buy. Some brands work through selected corporate partners, and a coffee-equipment arrangement is different from owning a branded shop. Start by establishing the actual partnership model before budgeting.
UK coffee research
Start with the model, check the full costs, then review the specific brand.
These figures may describe an investment estimate or applicant funds. They are different measures, not comparable opening-price quotes. Follow each guide for the source and inclusions.
| Brand | Published investment or funds | Local availability |
|---|---|---|
| Costa Coffee → | Not publicly disclosed in the official pages reviewed | Individual UK retail-franchise availability not verified |
| Greggs → | Not publicly disclosed in the official pages reviewed | Partner-operated shops confirmed; individual purchase route not verified |
| KFC → | Total investment not disclosed; FAQ lists £5m assets and £2m liquid | Official UK development page says it is not currently seeking new franchise partners |
| Domino’s → | A current complete opening cost and fee schedule were not verified in the public pages reviewed | The UK group describes Franchise Partners; confirm the current recruitment route and any available store directly |
| Esquires Coffee → | Costs page: £270,000–£300,000 total; minimum capital £100,000; application page shows £250,000–£300,000 | Official UK franchise application route published; acceptance and location approval are required |
| Really Awesome Coffee → | £22,950 + VAT franchise package; advertised contribution just under £10,000 involves vehicle finance and is not a full all-cash project price | Official UK mobile café franchise enquiry route published; funding and route arrangements require confirmation |
Separate a Costa retail franchise from professional coffee solutions and learn which availability and cost questions still need direct confirmation.
Greggs has franchised shops, but that does not establish an individual purchase opportunity. Review the official evidence and next questions.
Check KFC UK’s current recruitment message, published asset criteria and the distinction between franchise enquiries and property submissions.
Understand Domino’s UK franchise model, royalties, marketing contributions and the cost evidence to request before considering a store.
Check Esquires’ UK investment ranges, £100,000 capital requirement, £19,500 fee and recurring charges, with a clear explanation of differing official figures.
Separate Really Awesome Coffee’s advertised initial contribution from its £22,950 + VAT franchise package, vehicle finance and ongoing operating commitments.
No guides match your search. Try another brand or choose all countries.
All figures on these pages refer to United Kingdom unless stated otherwise. Currency: GBP. Published costs are a starting point for investigation, not a quote or an earnings forecast.
01Build a complete opening budget, from the franchise fee to working capital.
Read the guide →
02A practical framework for comparing availability, commitments and costs.
Read the guide →
03Turn your shortlist into a focused conversation with each franchisor.
Read the guide →
04Build an evidence file and a question log for your US franchise review.
Read the guide →
05Model monthly percentage charges and fixed fees with an interactive calculator.
Read the guide →
06Test the sales your operating cost assumptions would require.
Read the guide →
07Compare control, support, costs and the work each route requires.
Read the guide →
08Separate accounting working capital from cash runway, with a reserve calculator.
Read the guide →
09Use a worked example to distinguish sales, operating surplus and available cash.
Read the guide →